Programme of Events

LMMES reserve the right to cancel or amend the published events without notice.

The Society arranges various talks and other events, mainly on Monday evenings. Members of the public are welcome to come along to our talks and other events. Please contact the secretary (see Contact page ) for more information.

We also run trains for the public every Sunday and Bank Holiday, and Thursday afternoons in summer school holidays. All running is subject to weather conditions and from November to March it is also subject engineering works and member availability.

2024 Programme

Date Event Details
Sun, 07 Jan 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 14 Jan 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 15 Jan 7.30pm Engineering Evening The night where you bring a project along. This can be anything you are currently working on including drawings. It does not have to be railway biased. The idea is to discuss various manufacturing processes with a particular emphasis on helping those with limited experience.
Tue, 16 Jan 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 21 Jan 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 28 Jan 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 04 Feb 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 05 Feb 5pm Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 11 Feb 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Tue, 13 Feb 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 18 Feb 13.30am Private function Loyne Special School - trains running 1.30 -3.30pm
Sun, 25 Feb 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 03 Mar 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 04 Mar 6pm/7.30pm Auction night Viewing from 6pm, auction starts 7.30pm. We have a whole workshop clearance to auction tonight. Many very desirable items. All members and visitors are encouraged to come along and see the huge range of items on offer.
Tue, 05 Mar 5pm Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sat, 09 Mar 14:00 Private function Birthday party
Sun, 10 Mar 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Tue, 12 Mar 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 17 Mar 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 18 Mar 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 24 Mar 10.30am Boiler testing Day Boiler testing, hydraulic and steam, available on site all day. ALL MEMBERS NEEDING CERTIFICATION PLEASE TRY TO COME TODAY.
Fri, 29 Mar 10.30am Good Friday Public Running
Sun, 31 Mar 10.30am Easter Sunday Public Running
Mon, 01 Apr 10.30am Easter Monday Public Running
Tue, 02 Apr 5pm Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 07 Apr 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 09 Apr 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 14 Apr 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 15 Apr 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 21 Apr 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 28 Apr 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 05 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 06 May 10.30am Bank Holiday Public Running
Sat, 11 May 5" Day This is the first of two days when local clubs are invited to come and run their 5" gauge locomotives at Cinderbarrow for the day. Come and enjoy the day reserved exclusively for 5" gauge locos and rolling stock.
Sun, 12 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 14 May 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 19 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 20 May 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 26 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 27 May 10.30am Bank Holiday Public Running
Sun, 02 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 03 Jun 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 09 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 11 Jun 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Thu-Sat, 13-15 Jun GL5 meeting GL5 meeting at Cinderbarrow. Members are welcome to come and see the railway running to timetable with 5" gauge engines and rolling stock only.
Sun, 16 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 17 Jun 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 23 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 30 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 01 Jul 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sat, 06 Jul Open Day Cinderbarrow opens its gates to our neighbouring Northern Societies to come and run their locos and rolling stock. All types are welcome, steam, electric, diesel, 7¼" or 5" gauge. Our club room displays a superb table of refreshments for all, with many thanks for the arrangements by members
Sun, 07 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 09 Jul 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 14 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 15 Jul 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 21 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Thu, 25 Jul 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 28 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Thu, 01 Aug 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 04 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 05 Aug 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Thu, 08 Aug 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 11 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 13 Aug 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Thu, 15 Aug 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 18 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 19 Aug 7.30pm Presentation tba
Thu, 22 Aug 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 25 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 26 Aug 10.30am Bank Holiday Public Running
Thu, 29 Aug 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sun, 01 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 02 Sep 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Thu, 05 Sep 1pm School hol running Public Running
Sat, 07 Sep 5" Day The second of of two days when local clubs are invited to come and run their 5" gauge locomotives at Cinderbarrow for the day. Come and enjoy the day reserved exclusively for 5" gauge locos and rolling stock.
Sun, 08 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Tue, 10 Sep 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 15 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 16 Sep 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 22 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 29 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 06 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 07 Oct 7.30pm Engineering Evening The night where you bring a project along. This can be anything you are currently working on including drawings. It does not have to be railway biased. The idea is to discuss various manufacturing processes with a particular emphasis on helping those with limited experience.
Tue, 08 Oct 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 13 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 20 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 21 Oct 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 27 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 03 Nov 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 04 Nov 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 10 Nov 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Tue, 12 Nov 6.30pm Trustee Meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 17 Nov 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 18 Nov 7.30pm Presentation tba
Sun, 24 Nov 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 01 Dec 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Mon, 02 Dec 12am Members running evening Members can come and run their locos in the evening. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 08 Dec 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running
Sun, 15 Dec 10.30am Possible Sunday running Public Running, subject to weather, engineering works and staff availablility - Check Facebook to see if we are running