Programme of Events

LMMES reserve the right to cancel or amend the published events without notice.

The Society arranges various talks and other events, mainly on Monday evenings. Members of the public are welcome to come along to our talks and other events. Please contact the secretary (see Contact page ) for more information.

We also run trains for the public every Sunday and Bank Holiday from 10th April to 23rd October, and a special on Halloween.

2022 Programme
Date Event Details
Mon, 23 Jan 11.00am Workshop auction We have the contents of an entire workshop which we are auctioning on line - some real bargains to be had. You can view all the items on the web site at https://lmmes.co.uk/auctions/. The live auction at Cinderbarrow on 23 January has been cancelled because of concerns over Covid. All items will now be sold exclusively on line. Items are available for viewing at Cinderbarrow beforehand. Non members by appointment - email secretary@lmmes.co.uk
Mon, 24 Jan 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Mon, 07 Feb 7.30pm Informal Evening An opportunity for members to meet and discuss engineering subjects of interest
Mon, 21 Feb 7.30pm Education Grinders - Geoff Martell will talk about tool grinding and safety matters, with an opportunity to get hands-on experience.
Mon, 28 Feb 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Mon, 07 Mar 7.30pm Informal Evening An opportunity for members to meet and discuss engineering subjects of interest
Mon, 21 Mar 7.30pm Presentation An Edwardian Lakeland Tour - Geoff Holme
Mon, 28 Mar 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Mon, 04 Apr 7.30pm Engineering Evening The night where you bring a project along. This can be anything you are currently working on including drawings. It does not have to be railway biased. The idea is to discuss various manufacturing processes with a particular emphasis on helping those with limited experience.
Sun, 10 Apr Pre-Season Testing Day and Training day NO PUBLIC RUNNING. All the operational items are brought into use to check correct function. Boiler testing, hydraulic and steam, available on site all day. ALL MEMBERS NEEDING CERTIFICATION PLEASE TRY TO COME TODAY. Come along and get trained in any of the operations for running the railway. New members are encouraged to come and be trained and old hands can come along for a refresher. Contact Debbie Griffiths for information.
Fri, 15 Apr 10.30am Good Friday Public Running - First day of the season
Sun, 17 Apr 10.30am Easter Sunday Public Running
Mon, 18 Apr 10.30am Easter Monday Public Running
Tue, 19 Apr Members Running Afternoon The third Tuesday of each month during our running season is reserved for members to use our railway at Cinderbarrow rather than build/maintain it. This is the day of the month specifically reserved for members.
Sun, 24 Apr 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 25 Apr 7.30pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 01 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 02 May 10.30am Bank Holiday Public Running
Sat, 07 May RVLS visit Visit from Ribble Valley Live Steamers
Sun, 08 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
13-15 May Exhibition National Model Engineering & Modelling Exhibition - Doncaster
Sun, 15 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 16 May 7.30pm Presentation tba
Tue, 17 May Members Running Afternoon The third Tuesday of each month during our running season is reserved for members to use our railway at Cinderbarrow rather than build/maintain it. This is the day of the month specifically reserved for members.
Sun, 22 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 23 May 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 29 May 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 05 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 06 Jun 7pm AGM Annual General Meeting at Cinderbarrow. All members are asked to attend. Please come along and make it a good meeting.
Thu-Sat,
9-11 Jun
GL5 Meeting GL5 meeting at Cinderbarrow. Members are welcome to come and see the railway running to timetable with 5" gauge engines and rolling stock only.
Sun, 12 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 13 Jun 5.30pm Members running evening During the lighter evenings members can come and run their locos in the evening instead of the regular Tuesday slot. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sat/Sun, 18-19 Jun 10am-4pm Southport Model Engineering Club Open weekend - 5.5 inch & 3.5 inch track, small gauge tracks of 2.5 inch, Gauge 1 & 16 mm. Please bring your boiler certificate, club insurance & spark arrestor with you. Members are welcome with or without a loco.
Sun, 19 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 20 Jun 7.30pm Education Soft and Silver Soldering - Geoff Martell
Wed, 22 Jun 1pm Old Buffers Buffet Socialising from 1pm with refreshments served from 3pm. This will be an opportunity for our retired and honorary members and current active members, to come together and celebrate all that they have been a part of at Cinderbarrow, to look at the new developments, and share reminiscences. Family members and carers will be welcome and we can offer help with transport if required.
Sun, 26 Jun 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 27 Jun 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sat, 2 Jul Open Day Cinderbarrow opens its gates to our neighbouring Northern Societies. Probably one of the busiest days in our calendar. The day is full, demanding, memorable and very satisfying, what else would you want? Our club room displays a superb table of refreshments for all, with many thanks for the arrangements by partner members
Sun, 03 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 04 Jul 5.30pm Members running evening During the lighter evenings members can come and run their locos in the evening instead of the regular Tuesday slot. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event. The MORRIS MINOR CLUB will be joining us and bringing along their cars. Should be an interesting evening!>
Sat, 9 Jul 1pm Private function North Lancs Downs syndrome Group
Sun, 10 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 17 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 18 Jul 7.30pm Site visit tba
Sun, 24 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 25 Jul 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 31 Jul 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 01 Aug 5.30pm Members running evening During the lighter evenings members can come and run their locos in the evening instead of the regular Tuesday slot. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 07 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Thu, 11 Aug 1pm Private function Bee Unique Autism Group
Sun, 14 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 15 Aug 7.30pm Presentation TBA
Sun, 21 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 22 Aug 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 28 Aug 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 29 Aug 10.30am Bank Holiday Public Running
Sun, 04 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 05 Sep 5.30pm Members running evening During the lighter evenings members can come and run their locos in the evening instead of the regular Tuesday slot. Feel free to bring along family, a picnic, barbecue, etc. and make it a real social event.
Sun, 11 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Sun, 18 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 19 Sep 7.30pm Presentation TBA
Sun, 25 Sep 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 26 Sep 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Sun, 02 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 03 Oct 7.30pm Engineering Evening The night where you bring a project along. This can be anything you are currently working on including drawings. It does not have to be railway biased. The idea is to discuss various manufacturing processes with a particular emphasis on helping those with limited experience.
Sun, 09 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Thu-Sun 13-16 Oct Exhibition Midlands Model Engineering Exhibition, Warwick Event Centre
Sun, 16 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 17 Oct 7.30pm Presentation TBA
Sun, 23 Oct 10.30am Sunday running Public Running
Mon, 24 Oct 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Mon, 31 Oct 5.30pm Halloween Our biggest evening of the year when we are joined by a variety of characters to help make this the most memorable of the year’s train journeys. All sorts of help is always needed and it is a great fund raiser for our Society. Help needed to set up from lunchtime.
Mon, 07 Nov 7.30pm Informal Evening An opportunity for members to meet and discuss engineering subjects of interest
Mon, 21 Nov 7.30pm Presentation TBA
Mon, 28 Nov 7.00pm Trustee meeting According to charity rules, members can only attend if invited for a specific purpose.
Mon, 05 Dec 7.30pm Informal Evening An opportunity for members to meet and discuss engineering subjects of interest